a Welcome to India policy foundation

Role Relevance and challenges

Author: IPF      Date: 25 Sep 2013 18:04:47



In the time when governance issues are taking driver seat in national politics it is very important to remember that a well researched Policy is one of the necessary pre conditions for the good governance.

Roughly speaking public policy aims at solving the problems being faced by society. In genesis and formulation of public policy think tanks play a crucial role but ultimately it is the willingness of the government as it can only make law. Government action, to be judged sound and judicious, has to be executed on the basis of well researched public policy. In diverse society like ours different groups have their own agenda and may lead to conflicts. In this case the think tanks have a very important role to play in formulation of the policy and lobbying for passage of that as law. In India there are numerous examples where policy formulations are divorced from policy research. These ill researched policies are one of the major causes of governance failure, policy paralysis and subsequent credibility crisis.

India Policy Foundation (IPF) in collaboration with Birla Institute of Management and Technology (BIMTECH) undertook a research to know how think tank helps in policy formulation in India. The research project endeavors to understand genesis, evolution and trajectories of think tanks in India. The project also aims to understand how think tank differs from academic institution and various advocacy groups in terms of policy formulation.

Following is the list of dignitaries who would attend the said event:

  • Prof. S.P. Das (Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneswar)
  • Mr. R.N. Dash (Secretary, Kalinga Institute of Social Science)
  • Shri Brahmananda Satpathy (Head P.G. Deptt. of Pol. Science, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar)
  • Prof. Radhamohan (Former State Information Commissioner)
  • Prof.R.K. Panda (Director, Nabakrushna Choudhry, Centre for Development studies)
  • Shri Brahmananda Rout (Director, Jayadev Institute of Social Science & Research.)
  • Shri P.K. Sahoo (Chairman, CYSD)
  • Shri Jagadananda (Former State Information Commissioner)
  • Dr. Sudhakar Panda, (Former Chairman, State Finance. Commission)
  • Dr. Ajit Kumara Tripathy IAS (Retd.) (Chairman, State Election Commission)
  • Dr. P.K. Mishra IAS (Retd) (Former Secretary, Coal, Govt. of India.)
  • Shri Trilochan Kanungo (Social Activist)
  • Shri Sampad Mohapatra (Media Person, Former State Head NDTV)
  • Dr. Omkarnath Mohanty (Former, V.C. , BPUT.)
  • Shri J.B. Sarangi (Former Director, Handicraft, and cottage Industries)
  • Shri Vivek Patnaik, IAS (Retd.) (Former, Secreatary Civil aviation Govt. of India.)
  • Abakash Beuria (Retd Indian Foreign Service)
  • D. K. Roy (Former Chairman, OERC)
  • Shri Sarbeswar Behera (Advocate)
  • Shri Rabi Narayan Panda
  • Shri Shivanarayan Singh 
  • Dr. Ashwini Mahapatra
  • Shri Jatin Mohanty
  • Shri Dambaru Dhar Pattanaik
  • Prof. Kapil Kapoor